Daydreamer

 

I am a daydreamer.  People say nothing comes of it.
That answers are not found in the stars
but in scars that reality leaves for us.
Only things you can touch.
But that contradicts
what you told me when I was six.
Didn't you tell me to follow my dreams?
I can't touch them now but soon,
Momma please.
Let me daydream a little longer.
I don't want to be enslaved at night
by those fancies of flight
that only come in my unconscious state.
Because I can't move and have to wait.
Wait for morning and I forget
what they were. My mind resets.
Programmed to the stereotype that I have to
do things a certain way to be accepted. Patterned
into the design some other daydreamer concepted
and realized.
I am a daydreamer.  I want to dream awake
and not wait
to do something about it.
Take what I see
and what's within me
to change the world.
I know Momma I'm just a girl,
but I can do it. One dream at a time,
with one word or rhyme.
Pisces are escapists and idealistic they say.
But Thomas Edison and Bill Gates were described that way.
"Frank Lloyd Wright daydreamed so intensely
that his uncle had to shout at him to get him back."
Can't you see Momma? For me it's like that.
I think in pictures and feel things.
Books read like rhyme and I touch themes.
It's not something I became.
I was born this way.
I want to be free Momma.
I don't want to fight.
Please understand I dream
and realize them by day,
so I can rest easy at night.

 

22 thoughts on “Daydreamer”

  1. really well written daydreamer…funny when i saw the prompt i thought of your moniker…i want to dream while i am awake…def want that as well…this is really well written…and i felt your words…nicely done…

    Like

  2. I get it too! Definitely there is a place for daydreams in one’s life. And yes, daydreams by day definitely make one rest easier in the night. Your poem made some very good points and very well.

    Thanks for participating in Poetry Jam. As an administrator, it is nice to see new people. I also hope you will make your way around to others who have linked….as a way of participating in our community.

    Like

  3. Wow, I think the prompt might have been custom made for you! I definitely think the world needs daydreamers, the ones that can see beyond the possible and push humanity to new heights, whether it’s science or art. Thanks so much for sharing this with us over at Poetry Jam this week!

    Like

  4. smiles…this rings familiar…my mom used to shake her head when i was a kid, sitting in trees and watching the clouds transform to fantastical creatures… important not to lose this when we grow up…

    Like

  5. “I am a daydreamer. I want to dream awake
    and not wait
    to do something about it.”

    You speak for many here–sending out both the pleas and the restraints, the promise and the detractions. And you are right. Sometimes, life fills so that the daydreams do not come anyway–but perhaps that is our fear of difference holding us back.

    Like

  6. smiles….it has not been too long since i read thi sone last….its been great having you around the pub the last little bit and i hope in our second year to see you all the more…smiles….

    Like

  7. This piece is touching, the plea of the imagination as it conflicts with the real world. I see the starduster won over the realist. Your poem is beautiful.

    Like

Sandman leave me a dream...

