Proposition

May I interest you in a menage a trois

A fraternité of sorts…

For words are a seductive mistress

and life a jealous cohort.

Egalité between the two

has been hectic to say the least.

Poetry hounds me day and night

and life won’t stop ’til I’m deceased.

Proposing I gave my words away

and offered them for use?

 Would this be an acceptable outcome?

Faux pas or amicable truce?

I’d read your words in return, of course.

I’m sure it’s the only way!

To life and words temporary distractions,

for me it’s liberte!

© Day Dreamer
Please stop by and celebrate the gift of poetry.  Please comment after linking so that we may return and celebrate your gift of words.
10 thoughts on “Proposition”

  1. ha…cool on embedding la parole Liberté, Égalité, Fraternité into your writing…words can be a seductive mistress for sure and i find myself often running to some secret meeting place just to spend a bit time with her while life waits outside the door for a moment until i connect them back together..

    Like

  2. words, our words give us a little taste of each other, fun dancing the razor in this as well…its got shock value but not over the top…our reading of words is rather a escape as well…maybe even sometimes a guilty pleasure…

    Like

  3. This is so clever and charming for that. The French words fit so nicely into the rhythm of the poem, integrated organically with sense and sound. Lovely sounding and fun!

    Like

  4. Thank you for giving your words away, and offering them for use! love the lines,
    “For words are a seductive mistress
    and life a jealous cohort.”

    This is a well woven poem, it integrates and expresses these three words so well!

    Like

  5. Blending all of this wonderful writing and reading with living certainly does feel like a menage a trois! “Poetry hounds me day and night
    and life won’t stop ’til I’m deceased.”
    Sharing the one in the other might help, though it won’t speed the time needed for the poetry.
    “To life and words temporary distractions,
    for me it’s liberte!”
    or at least a temporary truce.

    Like

Sandman leave me a dream...

