Wisdom Circumspect

King Solomon was the wise one

and there have been none since.

At least not at his level

anyway.

Just those of us struggling,

day-to-day

for one iota above this nonsense

and consequence.

They say experience teaches us.

They say “trouble brings experience,

and experience brings wisdom.”

Does that not make me wise?

Do I get the prize?

Where is my evidence ?

(giggles)

Is my doubt evident?

Forgive me if I don’t believe.

All I asked for was honesty

and I can’t get that.

No disrespect intended.

I’ll give respect where it’s due.

When actions follow your words

I’ll doff my hat to you.

©  Day Dreamer

Posted for dVerse~Poets Pub OpenLinkNight – Anniversary Week, Imaginary Garden With Real Toads – Open Link Monday, and Poets United – Vice Versa – #7.  Feel free to stop by and link up.  Don’t forget to stop by and comment on some while you’re there.  See you soon!

11 thoughts on “Wisdom Circumspect”

  1. Beautiful! And I mean that sincerely, this flowed brilliantly esp. the last few lines:
    “No disrespect intended.
    I’ll give respect where it’s due.
    When actions follow your words
    I’ll doff my hat to you.”

    And I liked the subject,
    Thanks!

    Like

  2. those of us struggling in the day by day nonsense and consequence…nice…if experience is the best teacher, what happens when the consequence is far greater? i dont want experience in a field of land mines, just saying….actions will tell you far more about a person surely…

    Like

  3. This loaded much faster. Well done!
    This is a very cynical view. Everyone teaches us something until we learn the lessons we keep repeating. I think you have to meet wrong people so you know the right ones when you meet them, maybe? I agree on giving respect back if it’s shown to us.

    Like

    1. I agree everyone teaches us something, but there are certain people in everyone’s life that demand a respect they often don’t deserve. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

      Like

Sandman leave me a dream...

